Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

New Zealand: Geothermal mineral deposit

with 10 comments

Geothermal Mineral Deposits 7206

Last week you saw some boiling mud at Wai-O-Tapu in the geothermal zone near Rotorua. From the same place on February 24th, here’s a mineral deposit whose textures and colors wouldn’t let me pass by without photographing them. The forms at the left are a miniature version of the Pancake Rocks that appeared here a month ago.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

May 12, 2015 at 5:27 AM

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are so many amazing colours in this area. It is a case where do you start taking photos.

    Raewyn's Photos

    May 12, 2015 at 2:38 PM

  2. I see we have more than flowers in common 😀

    Heyjude

    May 12, 2015 at 6:15 PM

  3. I think the colors and shapes created during geothermal events/deposits are amazing and one is even tempted to say otherworldly were it not for the case that they are indeed from this world. Some of the images I have seen from Yellowstone are beyond belief…
    http://www.ejphoto.com/yellowstone_page.htm
    and closer to your home…

    Steve Gingold

    May 12, 2015 at 6:23 PM

    • I visited Yellowstone for the one and only time in 1998, so I’d love to go back with my current camera equipment. There’s no question that Yellowstone is the greatest of all the geothermal sites in the world. Yes, it’s a lot closer than New Zealand, but still a good ways away from Austin.

      Thanks for the introduction to Fly Geyser, which reminds me of the Pinkerton Hot Springs I featured here last fall:

      https://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2014/10/22/pinkerton-hot-springs/

      Steve Schwartzman

      May 12, 2015 at 9:07 PM

      • Oops. It appears I have repeated myself regarding the Fly Geyser. I forgot about last year’s post and maybe you did also or you were just being kind and not pointing out my forgetfulness?

        Steve Gingold

        May 14, 2015 at 3:28 AM

        • I forget things I’ve posted and comments I’ve made too, Steve, so not to worry. In any case, a good thing deserves repeating, and the audience that saw a post or comment or link last year isn’t the same audience that sees it this year.

          Steve Schwartzman

          May 14, 2015 at 6:28 AM

  4. At first glance I thought the white areas were snow and there were little avalanches flowing down a mountain. I can see why you had to photograph it. All those textures and the strange mix of colours are very interesting.

    Jane

    May 13, 2015 at 9:14 PM

    • With no other context and no sense of scale, it’s easy to see how you interpreted the white as snow on mountains, complete with avalanches.

      I felt compelled to photograph this formation and a bunch of other ones here and in the other Rotorua site I visited. One or two more such pictures will probably make an appearance in these pages.

      Steve Schwartzman

      May 13, 2015 at 10:07 PM


Leave a Reply

