Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

A different take

with 18 comments

Tetraneuris linearifolia Flower Head Opening 9112

Another wildflower I photographed when I walked in the greenbelt north of Old Lampasas Trail in northwest Austin on March 15th was Tetraneuris linearifolia, or four-nerve daisy, the species that prompted the discussion two years ago about crenels and merlons. While that still applies, this latest view offers a composition different from any I recall ever using for a four-nerve daisy, with the arc of the drooping flower stalk perpendicular to the plane of the camera’s sensor rather than parallel to it (which I did use for some of the other pictures in the session). Gotta keep trying new things, right?

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

March 31, 2015 at 5:03 AM

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The detail is fabulous, but one glance at the photo and I was right back in that discussion about crenels and merlons. I couldn’t help thinking, “It looks like this castle’s been conquered.”

    shoreacres

    March 31, 2015 at 7:04 AM

    • Showing another portrait of a four-nerve daisy may be carrying coals to Newcastle, but this is a castle I’m willing to conquer and reconquer.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 31, 2015 at 7:49 AM

  2. Have you ever experienced crenelations associated with migraines? http://machineslikeus.com/news/migraine-experience

    Jim in IA

    March 31, 2015 at 7:56 AM

    • I used to have migraines when I was young but the visual effects I experienced were shimmerings without anything as well defined as crenelations. I didn’t know that some migraine sufferers see crenelations.

      Fortunately I now see a lot more four-nerve daisies than I see migraine shimmerings (and even more fortunately, a headache no longer follows the visual effects).

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 31, 2015 at 8:06 AM

      • I never suffer from migraines. But, I have seen the growing crenelation effect a few times. Starts as a spot shimmering and grows to an ever wider jagged arc . It is gone peripherally within 30 minutes. Kind of pretty.

        Jim in IA

        March 31, 2015 at 8:42 AM

  3. Interesting. I’ve never experienced the crenelations but I do get migraines. Thankfully they are tapering off for me as well.
    I like this photo’s perspective. You speak of seeking something new…when you look back at your range of images, is there something that leaps out at you as something you’d like to do more of?

    melissabluefineart

    March 31, 2015 at 10:15 AM

    • Good question. I can’t say anything leaps out at me, but I’m always hoping for something spontaneous to happen, something different from what came before. The more I’ve done, the harder it is to find something new.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 31, 2015 at 4:07 PM

  4. It’s always a great experience to find a new way of looking at things. The dark background really allows us to enjoy the details and curve of this opening four-nerve daisy. And that dark background just suggested that I need to dust off my display.

    Steve Gingold

    March 31, 2015 at 2:02 PM

    • It was that edge-on perspective of the curving flower stalk that did it for me, although I also like the view from the side.

      Happy dusting.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 31, 2015 at 4:13 PM

  5. Great perspective. The colour of the petals is so vibrant.

    Raewyn's Photos

    March 31, 2015 at 2:29 PM

  6. Both the upright and the drooping views are lovely.

    Gallivanta

    March 31, 2015 at 11:09 PM

    • It’s a wonderful little wildflower, and a common one here, so I’ve tried out various ways to portray it.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 1, 2015 at 9:34 AM

  7. This is another shot I very much enjoy and would have on my wall. It reminds me more of a fashion object from years gone by. A decorative lampshade or a fancy tassel on a robe or hanging from a curtain or a piece of furniture. Lovely colours and soft details set off by the dark background, Steve. Another great composition as usual.

    Jane

    April 1, 2015 at 8:37 PM

    • The post about a trout lily last week brought two comments suggesting a lamp, and now you’ve imagined something similar for this arc-ing four-nerve daisy. Beyond that, though, I don’t recall anyone ever conceiving a tassel from one of my subjects, so I appreciate the new vision.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 1, 2015 at 10:10 PM

  8. Like Jane, I also envisioned a decorative tassel for a lamp with this picture. Great minds think alike.

    chrispavesic

    April 3, 2015 at 7:25 AM


Leave a Reply

