Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Huisache tree and low wispy cloud

with 20 comments

Huisache Flowering with Wispy Cloud 8666

On February 19, 2013, at the intersection of Shoal Creek Blvd. and Foster Ln. in north-central Austin I photographed an overhanging part of a flowering huisache tree (Acacia farnesiana) with a wispy cloud low on the horizon beyond it. I used flash to lighten the underside of the huisache that otherwise would have been too dark in comparison to the much brighter sky.

If you’d like a close view of the flowers of this very tree, though from 2012, I invite you to have a look. It’s worth it, honest, and there’s more information about huisaches there as well.

——–

I’m away from home. You’re welcome to leave comments, but please understand if I’m slow in responding.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 17, 2015 at 5:42 AM

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like! Hi Steve—long time no chat!

    Cindy Dyer

    February 17, 2015 at 5:54 AM

    • ‘Tis true. Nevertheless, your comment is reaching all the way to New Zealand, whose sights make this a new zeal land for photographers.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 17, 2015 at 12:25 PM

      • Sounds as though you have found some wonderful photo opportunities. Did the sun shine on the West Coast? We on the East Coast have been known to refer to it as the Wet Coast.

        Gallivanta

        February 18, 2015 at 7:21 AM

        • What a difference an s makes. Luckily we’ve had mostly sunny weather since heading west, beginning with the rock formations in the mountains west of Christchurch. Punakaiki was also rewarding, as were some other places on the coast road northward.

          We’re on the Inerislander as I finger this on my phone.

          Steve Schwartzman

          February 18, 2015 at 9:06 PM

          • Excellent. Hope you are having a smooth crossing. Not always guaranteed on the Interislander. Wondering if you met the Kea as you travelled via Otira. http://www.stuff.co.nz/the-press/news/66374020/daredevil-kea-score-new-playground-in-arthurs-pass Apparently they can be daredevil car surfers.

            Gallivanta

            February 18, 2015 at 10:30 PM

            • Eve saw it, but I was busy trying to photograph one of the mountain ratas you told us about and missed the bird.

              The Interislander was half an hour late, but the crossing went pretty smoothly apart from some moments of strong wind on the top deck.

              New Zealand has the best-colored ocean water I’ve seen in many years, and it keeps delighting me. Whether my camera has succeeded in recording that color, I don’t know.

              Steve Schwartzman

              February 19, 2015 at 3:11 AM

              • There are bound to be some good photos in the mix. The good news from this end is that my father went home today. Astonishing! Of course he is still on antibiotics but from death’s door to home door in less than a week seems almost miraculous. On another subject; the Barrys Bay cheeses are delicious.

                Gallivanta

                February 19, 2015 at 3:21 AM

                • That’s excellent news about your father! What a relief for you.

                  We’re glad you’re enjoying the cheeses.

                  Steve Schwartzman

                  February 19, 2015 at 2:06 PM

                • Yes, say Cheese, and you will get a big smile out of me. 😀

                  Gallivanta

                  February 19, 2015 at 4:44 PM

                • There was an American television show in the 1950s in which participants had to act out a phrase or saying without saying anything. Whenever the phrase was a simile, the contestant would smile.

                  Steve Schwartzman

                  February 22, 2015 at 12:41 PM

  2. The older post was indeed worth a look. I am imagining the lovely scent, and wondering if it would also make me sneeze.

    Gallivanta

    February 18, 2015 at 7:20 AM

    • It well might, as the aroma can be intense. Last spring the cold weather precluded flowering, but I hope we’ll get a round of flowers again this year.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 18, 2015 at 9:10 PM

  3. Nice shot, it looks like this was actually upside down! Always like contrasting colors.

    eLPy

    February 18, 2015 at 12:42 PM

    • We expect clouds to be down rather than up, so I like the unexpected reversal.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 18, 2015 at 9:14 PM

      • At was exactly my first thought upon seeing the photo. A cloud UNDER a tree. Nice eye.

        Shannon

        February 22, 2015 at 9:44 AM

  4. Hi Steve, I hope you’re well! You should know that I very much enjoy your blog, though I don’t come for a read but once every couple of weeks; it’s just so busy here. I hope you don’t mind that I pinged your blog on my latest post. There’s no need to participate in the ‘award,’ just know that you are still a top fav of mine here on WordPress and continue to be an inspiration for me in nature photography. Cheers, Neighbor.

    Shannon

    February 22, 2015 at 9:43 AM

    • For a few more days I’m about as far from being your neighbor as is possible on our earth, Shannon, because I’m visiting New Zealand. Thanks for letting me know you appreciate these posts, and thanks for the ping. I’m expecting to see some early season wildflowers in Austin when I get back, and the cycle starts over.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 22, 2015 at 12:36 PM

      • New Zealand! I must say that envy just kicked in. When I got back from Sydney back in ’98, our plans were to head over together to NZ later that year, but then I got a job and that squashed our plans. Then kids…one day.

        If you want to have a look at the Wren and Wood Duck post (with your ping), go here when you get back (http://wp.me/p28k6D-1BV). Cheers! Looking forward to some new stuff from you this spring.

        Shannon

        February 25, 2015 at 7:03 AM


Leave a Reply

