Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

A piscine prickly pear

with 29 comments

Prickly Pear Pad Like a Flounder 5587

From February 21, 2004, at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, how about this prickly pear pad that looked to me like a flounder?

——–

I’m still a long way from home. You’re welcome to leave comments, but please understand if I’m slow in responding.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 12, 2015 at 5:46 AM

29 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Seems a bit of a fishy doppelganger.

    Steve Gingold

    February 12, 2015 at 5:50 AM

  2. It does look like a fish – a rather terrified one! 🙂

    Jane

    February 12, 2015 at 6:28 AM

  3. I was thinking something more like a Tang (http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=15+43+330&pcatid=330) or a Trunk Fish (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spotted_trunkfish), or a Cow fish, or a Box fish. Certainly piscine … and never to be confused with a porcine piscine (http://www.snopes.com/photos/animals/pigfish.asp)! D

    Pairodox Farm

    February 12, 2015 at 6:31 AM

    • You’re way ahead of me on this one, D., thanks to your background. I was busy concentrating on the foreground.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 12, 2015 at 4:22 PM

  4. Blub blub blub… 🙂 Definitely fishy.
    I hope all is well with you in your travels, Steve.

    melissabluefineart

    February 12, 2015 at 6:53 AM

    • That’s the first “blub blub blub” I’ve ever gotten as a comment.

      Yes, all is well, although in a foreign country there are always some (non-literal) missteps.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 12, 2015 at 4:18 PM

      • No other blub blub blubs? Ah, well. A first for everything. I’m glad to hear that all is well.

        melissabluefineart

        February 13, 2015 at 2:53 PM

  5. You never have been one to flounder around for a creative description, Steve. Love this one.

    shoreacres

    February 12, 2015 at 7:43 AM

  6. Sort of looks like a Grouper fish to me. 🙂

    Lavinia Ross

    February 12, 2015 at 9:18 AM

  7. I see a fish ! great picture !

    gwenniesgarden

    February 12, 2015 at 12:47 PM

  8. This is cool!! Sure does look like a flounder, and it reminds me of something from the movie Beetlejuice! Remember when they redecorated the house with all the weird art? Yup, bet they were inspired after they saw one of these. 😀

    Oh and ya know, it also looks to me like a big ol’ piece of ginger! 😉

    The Beetlejuice Flounder Ginger Cactus.

    eLPy

    February 12, 2015 at 9:21 PM

    • “The Beetlejuice Flounder Ginger Cactus” is quite a mouthful, but interesting phrases are always encouraged here. I can see a piece of ginger in this now that you mention it, but I don’t think I ever would have thought of it on my own.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 13, 2015 at 1:38 AM

      • 😀

        Don’t people eat cactus too? Or some forms of cactus…? Or maybe I’m making that up.

        eLPy

        February 13, 2015 at 2:26 PM

        • Yes, Mexicans eat the (de-spined) pads, which are called nopalitos. They also eat the fruits, which are called tunas.

          Steve Schwartzman

          February 14, 2015 at 4:33 AM

          • A tuna is a fishy sort of flounder.

            Gallivanta

            February 14, 2015 at 7:12 AM

          • Nopalitos, I think I’ve heard that before, Tunas I have not. People drink “cactus water” as well correct…? That’d be a trick to see someone eat a spined pad!

            eLPy

            February 15, 2015 at 3:19 PM

  9. Well-spotted, Steve, though I’m afraid I must agree rather more with the tang reference rather than the flounder one, since only one “eye” is visible. I also applaud the ginger similarity. Maybe it only comes into its true element during the rare rainfall…

    krikitarts

    February 13, 2015 at 12:04 AM

    • Actually I’d thought about the absence of the second eye on the same side, but I decided to take poetic license and leave the technicalities to all of you zoologically adept folks.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 13, 2015 at 1:42 AM

  10. Yup, at first glance I thought this WAS a fish!

    Susan Scheid

    February 15, 2015 at 5:28 PM

  11. Magnifique phénomène de la nature. ☻

    orepuk

    February 16, 2015 at 2:25 PM


Leave a Reply

