Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Particularly pretty possumhaw

with 16 comments

Possumhaw with Fruit in the Woods 7201

I could show you (and have shown you as recently as January 19) close views of the dense clusters of little red drupes produced by a native tree called possumhaw, Ilex decidua. This view from farther back lets you see the beauty of a fruiting possumhaw in the landscape, namely some of the woods in Great Hills Park as they looked on February 5, 2013. To take this photograph I had to gingerly work my way down the bed of a flowing creek to get close enough for a good (but still wide-angle) view.

——–

I’m away from home. You’re welcome to leave comments, but please understand if I’m slow in responding.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 10, 2015 at 5:49 AM

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not in the same family at all, but the possumhaw photo reminded me that all the rowan trees around town are brightening up with bright red berries. http://www.terrain.net.nz/friends-of-te-henui-group/new-exotic-trees/rowan-sorbus-aucuparia.html I expect possums would eat them. One site I checked says we have 30 million possums in NZ, and they eat 9000 tonnes of fruit, berries and leaves every night. 😦

    Gallivanta

    February 10, 2015 at 7:34 AM

    • I’ve become all too aware of the damage that possums cause in New Zealand, alas. A few days ago I visited Tiritiri Matangi, from which alien predators have been removed.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 11, 2015 at 2:49 AM

      • You have been to a lovely place. Sadly not one that I have visited.

        Gallivanta

        February 11, 2015 at 2:56 AM

        • Now you have an added incentive to go there. Speaking of places to visit, I sent you an e-mail a while ago about updated plans.

          Steve Schwartzman

          February 11, 2015 at 3:03 AM

          • I have replied. Life is flexible here. We just roll with whatever happens, even if it’s an earthquake. I do not wish any of those upon you though.

            Gallivanta

            February 11, 2015 at 3:14 AM

  2. I often look at your photos and think, “Georgia O’Keeffe would appreciate this.” This time, I thought, “Monet really could have done something with this.” It brought to mind “Rose Path at Giverny” — because of the tangle, I suppose. I like the way the red, green, and gray each spread through the whole frame. It’s a restful image.

    shoreacres

    February 10, 2015 at 7:31 PM

    • I’ll take Monet any time, and Great Hills Park has the same number of syllables as Giverny. I like your perceptive analysis of the interpenetrating red, green, and gray.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 11, 2015 at 2:54 AM

  3. This is a particularly pretty possumhaw. I was also enjoying the interplay between the red and green, set off by the graceful curves of the branches.

    melissabluefineart

    March 6, 2015 at 8:42 AM


Leave a Reply

