Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Colorful lichen

with 10 comments

Orange Lichen on Dead Branch 6828A

Lichens are always fun to photograph. This one intrigued me because its saturated orange contrasted so well with the blue of the sky beyond it.

I saw this at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center on February 3, 2013.

——–

I’m away from home. You’re welcome to leave comments, but please understand if I’m slow in responding.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 7, 2015 at 5:29 AM

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Either the 16 people here before me have better taste in humor than I or were just too shy to say “I am lichen this one”, Steve.

    I wonder if this is related to the reindeer lichen (Cladonia sp.)? Its warmth does contrast well with the cooler sky.

    Steve Gingold

    February 7, 2015 at 12:42 PM

    • If you’re likin’ it, Steve, then we’re alike in that regard as well as in our names, but you seem to be ahead of me when it comes to identifying lichens, something I wish I knew how to do. So much to learn, so little time.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 7, 2015 at 12:58 PM

      • Just a wild guess and not necessarily correct. I am not as familiar with lichens as I wish either, Steve.

        Steve Gingold

        February 7, 2015 at 1:10 PM

  2. Ha! Love the previous comment 😀
    And love this picture – what a great shot Steve, yet another one that shows what an exceptionally talented photographer you are.

    Heyjude

    February 7, 2015 at 6:51 PM

  3. This is one of my favourites I think. I haven’t seen lichen this colour on my hikes yet. They are mostly grey or green here. It does look fantastic against the blue background, Steve.

    Jane

    February 7, 2015 at 8:26 PM

    • I’ve seen rock-hugging lichen this color from time to time, Jane, as well. This may be a type of fruticose lichen, which is to say fruit-like. I see it fairly often in Austin, including in Great Hills Park half a mile from my home. As for the two colors (of the lichen and the sky), I’m reminded that when I was growing up in Nassau County, New York, those were the county’s colors, and the police cars were painted orange and blue.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 7, 2015 at 9:32 PM

  4. Awesome composition! Here’s another unreal one eh? What I especially like is that it looks like it’s underwater which makes it even more memorable. Great shot.

    eLPy

    February 8, 2015 at 10:39 PM

    • I’d never though about this being underwater, but now that you’ve proposed it I can see how you conceived it that way. I’m also happy that the composition works well for you: I’ll take success anytime.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 9, 2015 at 3:49 AM

      • Success is a beautiful thing, pun intended. 😉

        eLPy

        February 9, 2015 at 1:53 PM


Leave a Reply

