Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Crab spider on flowering elbowbush

with 15 comments

Crab Spider on Flowering Elbowbush 6921

One of the earliest native plants to bloom in central Texas each year is the elbowbush, Forestiera pubescens. Here’s a crab spider on one at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center on February 3, 2013.

——–

I’m away from home. You’re welcome to leave comments, but please understand if I’m slow in responding.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 4, 2015 at 5:41 AM

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like the crab spider is hoping for a good catch.

    Gallivanta

    February 4, 2015 at 6:15 AM

  2. They are so good at hiding, I’m always pleased when I spot one.

    melissabluefineart

    February 4, 2015 at 9:41 AM

    • You can see how well this one blended in, but I managed to spot it. I have to assume there are many that I don’t.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 4, 2015 at 10:31 AM

  3. Fab photo, it’s hiding but you managed to find it.

    Emily Scott

    February 4, 2015 at 2:43 PM

    • There are lots of tiny creatures that hang out on plants, and sometimes I’m fortunate to get good pictures of them. I’m glad you like this one.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 5, 2015 at 12:29 AM

  4. Nice spotting, Steve. It is indeed well camouflaged.February 3rd, 2013, huh? So it is spring there already? When you get back I home, I assume you will start shooting Texas wildflowers again.

    Steve Gingold

    February 4, 2015 at 3:24 PM

    • Depending on the year, February in Austin can definitely be the beginning of spring. It can also bring us snow, as you’ll see in a couple of upcoming posts.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 5, 2015 at 12:33 AM

  5. Truly amazing creature; the detail you captured is really stunning.

    Charlie@Seattle Trekker

    February 4, 2015 at 4:05 PM

  6. Is that the spider’s natural color? It fits so well with the buds, it seems chameleon-like.

    Susan Scheid

    February 15, 2015 at 5:31 PM

    • As far as I know that’s the spider’s natural color, because I often see spiders in Austin that look like this. (Sorry for the delayed response, Susan. We got back from New Zealand yesterday evening and I’m still catching up on things.)

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 28, 2015 at 6:54 PM

      • Welcome home, and I trust we’ll get some photographs from your trip, too!

        Susan Scheid

        March 1, 2015 at 10:36 AM

        • I expect you will. What I photographed there was opportunistic and necessarily incomplete, but you’ll get to see some of my impressions.

          Steve Schwartzman

          March 1, 2015 at 11:20 AM


Leave a Reply

