Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Buffalo bur seed capsules spent and drying out

with 18 comments

Buffalo Bur Seed Capsules Dried Out 6490

As of today I’m traveling for a while, so to entertain you in the days ahead I’ll be presenting pictures, as I began to do yesterday, from February in previous years. That’s not hard to do, because I take many more photographs than I can ever show here, even at a pace of one a day. It’s also fun for me to look back and occasionally rediscover pictures I’d forgotten.

From the same February 1, 2013, session as last time, here are some spent seed capsules of buffalo bur, Solanum rostratum, the kind of plant that botanists like to describe as “well defended.” If this clearly well defended but also desiccated specimen strikes you as drear rather than dear, see if you can guess (assuming you don’t already know) the color of the flowers that produced these seed capsules. To see whether your guess is correct, click on over to a picture of a buffalo bur when it’s flowering.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 2, 2015 at 5:12 AM

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t find this picture drear. The warm spikes contrast well with the blue background and the composition is lovely. The flowering version was a surprise. The colours and petal shapes are not at all what I imagined!

    Jane

    February 2, 2015 at 5:39 AM

    • It’s great that the flower color and shape surprised you, Jane. I’m also happy to hear you find this dear rather than dear.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 2, 2015 at 3:47 PM

  2. I see that you managed the same sky in each. Nice. Pretty funny that you say drear. If you were photographing that here today, you would have a white sky, flakes flying by and be on your knees in 6 inches of snow…to this point. Maybe another 6 to come.

    Steve Gingold

    February 2, 2015 at 6:57 AM

    • Give me warmth, warmth, warmth. I wish I could pass some along to you. Actually I outdid you in cold yesterday, being only a few feet away from -84° at one point.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 2, 2015 at 4:54 PM

      • Where were you…in a meat locker?

        Steve Gingold

        February 2, 2015 at 4:58 PM

        • In an airplane at 31,000 ft., and that was the temperature outside the plane, according to the console on the back of the seat in front of me that reported facts about the flight’s progress.

          Steve Schwartzman

          February 3, 2015 at 1:19 AM

  3. Do they attach to your clothing?

    Jim in IA

    February 2, 2015 at 6:59 AM

    • Ouch!! You didn’t tell where you are traveling to! Is it a nature extravaganza?

      Dianne

      February 2, 2015 at 8:20 AM

      • As my photos here have been embedded,
        You might say today I’ve been eNZedded.

        Steve Schwartzman

        February 3, 2015 at 1:14 AM

        • My, my. There’s traveling, and then there’s traveling. Methinks you’re off to the land of bulls on pianos. What fun!

          shoreacres

          February 3, 2015 at 7:54 AM

          • Gallivanting off to the land of bulls on pianos indeed, and likewise fun indeed (minus fidgeting in a seat for 13 hours to get here, and now dealing with rain.).

            Steve Schwartzman

            February 3, 2015 at 9:58 PM

    • I usually don’t let my clothing come in contact with them, but I believe they would cling, just as they presumably did to buffalo fur.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 2, 2015 at 4:56 PM

  4. Not drear at all, except, I’ll bet, to deer. We don’t have many plants so well-defended as this around here.

    melissabluefineart

    February 2, 2015 at 9:16 AM

    • I think a deer would have to have a pretty thick tongue to deal with this plant. Those burs are great deterrents.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 3, 2015 at 1:16 AM

  5. Not drear but dread inducing.

    Gallivanta

    February 3, 2015 at 6:33 AM


Leave a Reply

