Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

A Clematis drummondii flower as it opens

with 12 comments

Clematis drummondii Flower Opening 0684

Here’s a slightly later stage in the opening of a Clematis drummondii flower that I photographed along Great Northern Blvd. in north-central Austin on December 3. This view also lets you see that the leaflets in the vine’s compound leaves are shaped somewhat like dinosaur footprints.

© 2014 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

December 23, 2014 at 1:54 PM

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wonder if a dinosaur and a clematis ever encountered each other? 😉

    Gallivanta

    December 23, 2014 at 2:30 PM

    • It seems possible because the age of dinosaurs overlapped the age of flowering plants. What I don’t know is when the various species of Clematis appeared (as opposed to flowering plants in general).

      What I can say for sure is that although I’ve encountered many live Clematises I’ve never encountered a live dinosaur.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 23, 2014 at 2:42 PM

  2. I am a huge Clematis fan and I am always grateful for new suggestions…Have a great Christmas.

    Charlie@Seattle Trekker

    December 23, 2014 at 2:57 PM

    • We have three native species of Clematis in central Texas, this one and two others that look like each other (except for color) but are quite different from this one, which is by far the most common of the three.

      Happy holidays to you in the Northwest.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 23, 2014 at 4:09 PM

  3. I swear, this flower is beautiful in every one of its stages. I like the way you’ve used the leaves to frame it, here.

    shoreacres

    December 23, 2014 at 5:57 PM

    • I also find it appealing in all its stages. Even here, well before the “beard” phase, there’s a bit of a sheen on the filaments (which I expect the flash enhanced). The diagonal line of the leaves suggested a framing that’s unusual for me, but I’m glad you find it works here.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 23, 2014 at 6:56 PM

  4. Again, not at all like ours. More like when they are spent and going to seed.
    This is such a nice portrait placed as it is against the darker background and surrounded by the leaflets.

    Steve Gingold

    December 24, 2014 at 4:25 AM

  5. Almost missed this one, which would have been a shame. It is lovely, Steve!

    melissabluefineart

    January 6, 2015 at 9:06 AM

    • I’m glad you found it, Melissa. I expect you can use all the wildflowers you can get at this time of year.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 6, 2015 at 10:53 AM


Leave a Reply

