Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Sunflowers in December

with 18 comments

Bush Sunflower Flower Head 0810

The thought of sunflowers in December is a strange one for many of you, and even for lots of people in Austin, but the fact remains that an observer of nature here does stand a good chance of seeing a few sunflowers near the end of the year. As confirmation, here’s a picture I took on December 3 along Great Northern Blvd., a place in north-central Austin I’ve come to rely on for bush sunflowers, Simsia calva.

© 2014 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

December 21, 2014 at 5:27 AM

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ahh, a ray (or two) of sun 🙂 Wonderful, and not one I’m familiar with. Thanks for the cheer, Steve!

    melissabluefineart

    December 21, 2014 at 9:17 AM

  2. A most suitable and welcome offering on the shortest day of the year. Happy solstice, Steve!

    krikitarts

    December 21, 2014 at 10:16 AM

    • The word solstice means literally ‘sun stands [still].’ In this case I’d say the sun[flower] still stands.’ Happy transition to you.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 21, 2014 at 11:16 AM

  3. Yesterday, in the midst of rain, gloom, and general muckiness, I was driving home from the post office when I thought, “Was that a bunch of sunflowers I just saw?” I should have turned around right then, but I was ready to be home. When I saw this post, I thought, “They may well have been sunflowers.”

    I just got back from retracing my route, thinking I might be able to find them. Nothing. Maybe someone cut them down. Maybe a worker had thrown a yellow raincoat over something. Maybe I was hallucinating. In any event, I know they’re possible now, so I’ll keep my camera by my side this week, just in case they decide to reappear.

    In the meantime, this one of yours is lovely, and certainly brightens up this shortest day of the year.

    shoreacres

    December 21, 2014 at 1:42 PM

    • I’ve occasionally seen a common sunflower (as opposed to the bush sunflower, which doesn’t quite make it to your area) blooming here in December, so you might well have seen one. By far the most common wildflower here this month has been greenthread, Thelesperma filifolium, a little yellow-flowered member of the sunflower family that’s been attested as close to you as Brazoria County. Of course you might have seen a yellow raincoat after all, or a discarded bit of yellow cardboard or platic. Regardless, happy solstice.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 21, 2014 at 5:43 PM

  4. The mild weather has Texas Prickly Poppy blooming in Caldwell County.

    Esther Wilson

    December 21, 2014 at 2:30 PM

  5. So bright and cheerful. Love it. 😀

    Raewyn's Photos

    December 21, 2014 at 3:41 PM

    • You’re the second commenter to mention cheer. Sunflowers will do the trick, that’s for sure.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 21, 2014 at 5:33 PM

  6. ’twas a gloomy day here in the wilds of the Northeast so seeing such a symbol of late summer warmth is a pleasure, Steve. Nice dewy yellowy goodness.

    Steve Gingold

    December 21, 2014 at 6:09 PM

    • It’s been mostly gloomy here too for the past couple of weeks, so I’m as cheered as you by the wildflowers I still see.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 21, 2014 at 9:20 PM

  7. Beautiful, and amazing!

    montucky

    December 22, 2014 at 12:41 AM

  8. the title to your post made me think of the quote, ‘god gave us memories so that we may have roses in december.’

    i chuckle at that now, as i live where roses grow year round! it’s nice that you had a few lingering orbs of happy sunflowers! happy holidays! z

    Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    December 23, 2014 at 10:06 AM

    • Southern Texas and southern Florida are semi-tropical, but you know so well that they still can’t compare with the real tropics where many kinds of flowers bloom year-round.

      Te deseo Feliz Navidad.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 23, 2014 at 1:44 PM


Leave a Reply

