Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

White squirrel time again

with 30 comments

White Squirrel on Ashe Juniper Tree6178

From late August into early September I caught glimpses of the white fox squirrel again, and on September 9th it turned up on the Ashe juniper tree outside my window. As I mentioned last year, this isn’t an albino (notice it doesn’t have a pink eye), but merely a white variant.

© 2014 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

October 10, 2014 at 5:45 AM

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awww, he’s so cute :), and what a fantastic shot!

    photosfromtheloonybin

    October 10, 2014 at 5:59 AM

    • He takes after the photographer, Cindy, in both the white hair and the cuteness. Now if I could just learn to scamper through trees at lightning speed….

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 8:04 AM

  2. Affordable post for white squirrel,

    mranish

    October 10, 2014 at 6:01 AM

    • I think something has been lost in translation here, but I’m glad you like the white squirrel.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 10:35 AM

  3. Diese Tiere mag ich ganz besonders gerne, sind so putzig 🙂

    einfachtilda

    October 10, 2014 at 6:26 AM

    • Mathilda says that she’s especially fond of these animals because they’re so cute (putzig). That’s one German cute sandwiched between two English ones.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 8:08 AM

  4. So cute! And nice shot! 🙂

    Radhika

    October 10, 2014 at 6:40 AM

  5. What a delight — seeing your squirrel again is like having an old friend come to visit. I’m sure you knew, or have figured out, that squirrels tend to follow the same path through the trees. You ought to have plenty of opportunities to photograph this one, as long as it sticks to the trees and doesn’t decide to play in the traffic.

    The face is irresistable, but I like that the photo shows its toes so clearly. You even captured the needle-sharp claws that help those little critters climb anything vertical. Bark is good, flesh not so much so, but they’re not fussy. They’re born to climb.

    shoreacres

    October 10, 2014 at 6:55 AM

    • I had the same feeling of an old friend who came calling. I’ll confess I never noticed that squirrels tend to follow the same path through the trees, so I’ll try to pay more attention to that (at least when the squirrels I see aren’t running so fast that my eyes can’t follow them.

      If I remember correctly, I’ve seen this squirrel almost always in trees, so it’s not likely to get flattened by a car.

      I remember that you once had a pet squirrel, so you must know whereof you speak on the subject of claws climbing flesh (and I’ll add a tentative bit of ouch).

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 8:20 AM

  6. I feel some kinship with its white/grey colouring. The similarities stop at the colouring. I am not a nimble climber. This is the same squirrel as in the previous photos?

    Gallivanta

    October 10, 2014 at 6:56 AM

    • In my reply to the first comment a short while ago I mentioned that kinship too, and I even alluded to climbing. I hadn’t read your comment yet, so we were thinking along the same lines.

      I’ve never seen two white squirrels at the same time, so I’m assuming that this is the same one as last year. I haven’t looked for a distinctive mark that would clinch the identification.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 8:26 AM

  7. Do you have black squirrels? We have them in some parts of town.

    Jim in IA

    October 10, 2014 at 7:19 AM

    • Yes, we do have some dark ones in central Texas. I don’t believe I’ve ever gotten a good picture of one, or else I’d show it here.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 8:27 AM

  8. Huh! I’ve never seen a white variant up here, and we have a million squirrels in our backyard. (I know this because they eat the tomatoes in my garden and jump on the canna lilies.)

    • From the little I’ve read, my impression is that the white variants tend to cluster in certain regions. It sounds like your part of Texas isn’t one of them, and Austin doesn’t seem to be either, given that this is the only white squirrel I’ve seen here. One more reason to be happy about living in this neighborhood.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 9:38 AM

    • By the way, I’ve never heard of squirrels eating tomatoes; I guess these animals are opportunistic, just as I am when it comes to taking pictures.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 10:49 AM

      • They don’t really eat them, they just take one bite out of the ripest ones, making them inedible. I learned to pick the tomatoes just before they reached optimal ripeness and let them ripen in the kitchen. Grrr.

  9. Is it a red or grey squirrel underneath?

    Emily Scott

    October 10, 2014 at 1:32 PM

    • I believe it’s reddish, and that’s why I assume this is a fox squirrel—in addition to the fact that a few other people have told me that’s what they think it is.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 2:14 PM

  10. We don’t have squirrels here in New Zealand so I love seeing photos of them. 😀

    Raewyn's Photos

    October 10, 2014 at 4:25 PM

    • At least that’s one less non-native animal for you to worry about in New Zealand (I gather there are plenty of invasive ones). I’m happy to send you this squirrel vicariously, so it does no harm to your ecology.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 4:30 PM

  11. Quite a handsome fellow. D

    Pairodox Farm

    October 10, 2014 at 6:02 PM

  12. Johnny Winter Squirrel, I assume. Can he play the blues?

    This is an outstanding diagonal portrait, Steve. Great detail. We’ve the black variant of the grey squirrel here, along with said grey and reds as well. I should post one of the reds some day.

    Steve Gingold

    October 10, 2014 at 6:46 PM

    • That’s a good one: Johnny Winter Squirrel. I didn’t detect any blues in him, but maybe when colder weather comes.

      In terms of composition, the diagonality was imposed by the tree branch outside my window. That said, I’m pleased that you find it effective.

      We look forward to seeing you enter the SPA (Squirrel Photo Arena).

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2014 at 7:01 PM

  13. i love squirrel time

    sedge808

    October 10, 2014 at 10:41 PM

  14. What a sweet and beautiful creature – and a wonderful portrait!

    FeyGirl

    October 11, 2014 at 9:30 PM


Leave a Reply

