Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

It’s time for blazing-star again

with 15 comments

Liatris Flower Spike with Cloud 6818

On September 7th I was driving in northeast Austin on the way to the house of some friends when for the first time this year I spotted a flowering Liatris mucronata, known as gayfeather and blazing-star. The next day I went to a part of the Blackland Prairie a mile from the previous afternoon’s sighting (but with an easier place to park) and spent a good while photographing plants of this species. What you’re seeing here is the top of a spike that was two to three times as tall as this flowering part. Note the opening buds near the bottom of the picture; this is apparently a plant whose buds open from the top down.

——

I’m leaving for vacation today but I won’t be leaving you without pictures while I’m gone. That said, please understand if I’m slow to reply to comments in the days ahead.

© 2014 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

September 21, 2014 at 5:43 AM

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Enjoy your vacation.

    Gallivanta

    September 21, 2014 at 6:21 AM

  2. They have a nice color. Have a good vacation.

    Jim in IA

    September 21, 2014 at 8:31 AM

  3. Nice. It is funny to me that we grow a few Liatris in our garden yet I have never photographed it. Yes, they do flower from the top down…at least in my yard that is true.

    Ah, so that partially answers my question to you on my blog. Enjoy your vacation, Steve.

    Steve Gingold

    September 21, 2014 at 9:39 AM

    • Thanks, Steve. We plan to enjoy parts of the Southwest, but so far we’ve had our share of rain.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 21, 2014 at 11:48 PM

  4. Très belles couleurs et détails.

    Pierre

    September 22, 2014 at 5:16 AM

  5. You’re as creative as anyone I know in your use of clouds. I hope you were as pleased with this photo as I think you should have been. Not everyone has captured a star blazing away in front of a cloud.

    shoreacres

    September 22, 2014 at 6:40 AM


Leave a Reply

