Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

1337

with 50 comments

This morning I got a notification from WordPress saying: “Congratulations on writing 1,337 total posts on Portraits of Wildflowers.” Not 1,000 or 2,000 or 1,500 or even 1,300, but precisely 1,337. I may be in my prime, but 1,337 isn’t even a prime number, because it factors into 7 x 191. Inscrutable are the ways of WP.

Now that you’ve been inveigled by a number, I’d better give you something botanical. Here’s some powerful purple in a mostly soft picture of that anything-but-soft plant you saw last time, eryngo, Eryngium leavenworthii, viewed from the top down. The location was once again the Elisabet Ney Museum on August 28.

Eryngo Viewed from Top 5228A

© 2014 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

September 15, 2014 at 1:35 PM

50 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And very good wishes to you on your 1337th! Well done. D

    Pairodox Farm

    September 15, 2014 at 2:26 PM

  2. Congratulations!

    photoleaper

    September 15, 2014 at 2:35 PM

  3. Well, choosing an obvious number to celebrate would be boring!

    Emily Scott

    September 15, 2014 at 2:58 PM

  4. Congratulations! A number worth celebrating!

    Cathy

    September 15, 2014 at 2:59 PM

    • Thanks, Cathy. The math person in me wants to say that every number is worth celebrating, but then WordPress would have to send me a congratulatory notification after every post.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 15, 2014 at 3:29 PM

  5. I like the number. Add the first three digits and get the last one. Clever.

    One more thing… Edward, the Black Prince is made Duke of Cornwall, the first Duchy made in England in 1337.

    Jim in IA

    September 15, 2014 at 4:12 PM

    • You make a good point about the last digit being the sum of the first three. I see threeness here in another way as well: if the number were 6 less it would be 11 cubed, which means 1337 is the sum of the third triangular number and the third power of 11.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 15, 2014 at 4:48 PM

  6. Congrats – love the viewpoint on this flower

    norasphotos4u

    September 15, 2014 at 5:03 PM

    • Thanks, Nora. A straight-down view is probably the one I opt for the least often, but sometimes it’s effective.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 15, 2014 at 6:52 PM

  7. Enjoy praise whenever it comes!

    Pamela Breitberg

    September 15, 2014 at 6:17 PM

    • I like your attitude here, Pamela. I still don’t know what’s special about 1337, but I’ll accept the congratulations.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 15, 2014 at 6:53 PM

  8. I think it is a WordPress ‘joke’. 1337 means you are elite or leet. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leet which is WP why they choose that number of posts to send you congratulations.

    Gallivanta

    September 15, 2014 at 9:30 PM

    • Speaking of of leet speak, I’ve still got a post in my draft files titled “Walkabout in w00t w00t”. I’m sure I’ll never do anything with it, but it goes back to my first read of Paul Theroux’s “The Happy Isles of Oceania.” And I think you nailed the reason for the congrats today.

      shoreacres

      September 15, 2014 at 10:00 PM

    • Wow, that seems to be it! Thanks for your explanation. I had no knowledge of any of the things in the article you linked to, and I’ll bet many other readers were puzzled by the number 1337 too.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 15, 2014 at 10:37 PM

      • Yes, I would not have known myself except that I have been told too many times in recent years, by leet speaking digital natives (ie my children) that I am a nOOb.

        Gallivanta

        September 15, 2014 at 11:15 PM

        • N00b is one term I am familiar with, but when it comes to so many other terms of that sort I’m certainly a newbie.

          Steve Schwartzman

          September 16, 2014 at 7:35 AM

  9. And by the way you are amazing to have written that many posts on a daily basis. I am struggling to get through a week of daily posts.

    Gallivanta

    September 15, 2014 at 9:30 PM

    • You’re right that it’s a lot of work. A post in my standard format of one photograph and some explanatory text takes me about an hour to prepare, and that doesn’t include the time I spend out in nature taking pictures. (At some point I’ll break the streak but I don’t know when.) Writing longer text and including multiple images, as you do, takes more time and is harder to keep up daily.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 15, 2014 at 10:59 PM

  10. This is a great photo. It has an almost metallic quality, like old-fashioned Christmas tree light reflectors.

    shoreacres

    September 15, 2014 at 10:04 PM

  11. Looking forward to number 2674.
    Nice abstract, Steve. Again, that purple is so pleasing a color.

    Steve Gingold

    September 16, 2014 at 3:51 AM

  12. Congratulations on your accomplishment, beautiful number just as all your posts! Love the color, she is a super star just as number 1337!

    marksshoesbyevamarks

    September 16, 2014 at 11:33 AM

    • The top of this thistle-like flower head does look like a stylized star, doesn’t it? Call it a super star and you’ll get no argument from me.

      We’ve already had 1338, and tomorrow it’s on to 1339.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 16, 2014 at 1:38 PM

  13. Is there an anniversary lurking there somewhere? The thorn tips on this image, look even more devilish than the thorns on the previous image of this plant.

    LensScaper

    September 17, 2014 at 11:35 AM

    • It looks like Gallivanta, in her first comment above, figured out what the 1337 is about.

      As for the spines on eryngo plants, yes, they’re definitely wicked. In spite of that, there have been plenty of times when I’ve ignored the admonition “Look but don’t touch.”

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 17, 2014 at 1:03 PM

  14. An unusual number to dwell on – but your photo is also unusual: Because it’s so beautiful!

    Truels

    September 17, 2014 at 4:48 PM

    • Your use of dwell and beautiful reminded me of this poem by Byron, which has other forms of those same words:

      She walks in beauty, like the night
      Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
      And all that’s best of dark and bright
      Meet in her aspect and her eyes;
      Thus mellowed to that tender light
      Which heaven to gaudy day denies.

      One shade the more, one ray the less,
      Had half impaired the nameless grace
      Which waves in every raven tress,
      Or softly lightens o’er her face;
      Where thoughts serenely sweet express,
      How pure, how dear their dwelling-place.

      And on that cheek, and o’er that brow,
      So soft, so calm, yet eloquent,
      The smiles that win, the tints that glow,
      But tell of days in goodness spent,
      A mind at peace with all below,
      A heart whose love is innocent!

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 17, 2014 at 6:35 PM

  15. Bizarre… it is a lovely image!

    Sheila Creighton

    September 17, 2014 at 8:47 PM

    • The number struck me as bizarre, too, but it seems Gallivanta, in her first comment above, figured out what the 1337 is about.

      The image, on the other hand, isn’t bizarre, even if some people might find that the plant itself is.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 17, 2014 at 9:10 PM

  16. And I think I’m the shiz with just over 100. Better step up my game to be in the same league as you. LOL

    1,337. Such a nice round number. Love the purply purple.

    Shannon

    September 18, 2014 at 2:04 PM

    • It’s been a lot of work, but there are plenty of people ahead of me. I think that’s the theory of relativity.

      I like your phrase purply purple: is it like girly girl?

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 18, 2014 at 2:22 PM

      • Though I’m no girly girl, I’m apt to use the phrases. I have two living in my house. It does work for that image, so I’m keeping it.

        Shannon

        September 18, 2014 at 2:40 PM

        • It just occurred to me that probably because the word boy ends in a y we don’t say boy-y boy as the male equivalent.

          Steve Schwartzman

          September 18, 2014 at 3:45 PM

  17. Ah, those inimitable WordPress announcements!

    Susan Scheid

    September 22, 2014 at 9:40 AM

  18. Yeah, and you gotta love “Beep beep boop”…or at least, I do. Makes me giggle.

    Wow, Steve, this shot is stunning.

    melissabluefineart

    October 3, 2014 at 9:20 AM


Leave a Reply

