Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

A close look at mountain pink flowers and buds

with 26 comments

Mountain Pink Flowers and Buds 3710

So let’s make it three in a row for mountain pink, Centaurium beyrichii, with a closeup showing its dense flowers and buds. Everything you see here makes up just a portion of the dome of a single plant. Now that’s what I call prolific.

This June 15th photograph comes from a property at FM 1431 and Brahma Ln. on the west side of the town of Lago Vista (which was someone’s misguided attempt to say Lake View in Spanish).

© 2014 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

July 29, 2014 at 5:56 AM

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Prolific and then some. Nice frame filler of this pink profusion, Steve.

    Steve Gingold

    July 29, 2014 at 6:15 AM

  2. ❤Gorgeous

    kismet

    July 29, 2014 at 6:19 AM

  3. I’m often amused by your placement of your name, but this is the best yet. However did you get those flowers to leave a little space for you?

    Once again, the macro lens is quite an aid to the eye. Both the flowers and buds look different here than I would have expected. The image of an individual pink I hold in my mind, and what you’ve shown, aren’t the same. The next time I see some, I need to take a better look.

    The buds remind me that last week, after our substantial rain, we had a profusion of rain lilies. We had mushrooms that emerged at the same time — a kind of botanical beauty and the beast.

    shoreacres

    July 29, 2014 at 7:19 AM

    • Whenever possible (assuming I notice it) I avoid “blank” areas that distract from an otherwise filled frame. Subjects aren’t always so obliging, but then I can use those spaces for my name in the versions of the pictures posted here.

      I’m especially fond of the mixture of these flowers and their bullet-like buds. Eventually all the buds open and the entire dome is floral, which gives a different look. Do check more closely the next chance you get, though the earliest that’s likely to be is next June.

      The rain brought out some rain-lilies here last week too, and I went out on the 21st to photograph some of them. For whatever reason, I haven’t seen a parallel surge of beasts, i.e. mushrooms.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 29, 2014 at 9:07 AM

  4. This is so evenly lit that I cannot tell whether you used flash-fill or natural light? So, which is it? D

    DAS

    July 29, 2014 at 7:33 AM

    • There was plenty of sunlight but I added flash so I could stop down to f/25 to get everything in focus. That’s not easy with mountain pink flowers viewed this closely, as I’ve learned from experience.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 29, 2014 at 12:59 PM

  5. Beautiful! One plant is a bouquet! 🙂

    myfoodandflowers

    July 29, 2014 at 7:33 AM

    • That’s an excellent way to put it: you may have noticed from the previous post that each plant has roughly the shape of a broad ice cream cone, which is to say the shape of a bouquet.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 29, 2014 at 1:00 PM

      • I have some Silene armeria ( Electra Sweet William Catchfly ) in my garden, also many small flowers in one plant. Kind of similar with your mountain pink.

        myfoodandflowers

        July 29, 2014 at 2:32 PM

        • I looked that up and I see what you mean about its dense little flowers. There’s a Silene species that’s native in central Texas but it has nondescript flowers and therefore is little known to the general public and I think even to some native plant people.

          Steve Schwartzman

          July 29, 2014 at 3:28 PM

  6. Beautifully captured – I had to go back and look at previous photos to see how small this plant actually is.

    Heyjude

    July 29, 2014 at 8:01 AM

    • You’re right: even a broad mountain pink flower dome is rarely one foot across, and often much smaller. I think you’ll agree that what the individual flowers lack in size they make up for in density.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 29, 2014 at 1:03 PM

  7. This view of the pinks reminds me of the little crocuses that will soon reappear in my garden.

    Gallivanta

    July 29, 2014 at 8:07 AM

    • Several commenters have mentioned crocuses (does anybody say croci?) here over the past year, from which I gather that they’re favorites of gardeners.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 29, 2014 at 1:07 PM

  8. I have never seen such an abundance and dense display of flowers! Is absolutely stunning, breathtaking image! The intensity of color is sublime and very energizing to look at!

    marksshoesbyevamarks

    July 30, 2014 at 6:14 PM

    • Yes, densely flowering mountain pinks are splendid, and I look forward each June and July to get another chance to photograph them. You should plan a trip one year to central Texas to see them in person and be even more energized than over the Internet.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 30, 2014 at 7:04 PM


Leave a Reply

