Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Goldeneye as I’d never seen it

with 17 comments

goldeneye-colony-flowering-by-fluffy-poverty-weed-8962

On my way south to photograph ladies’ tresses orchids on November 11th, I drove past this scene on S. Capital of Texas Highway and found it so impressive that I took the first turnaround, headed north, and again took the first available turnaround to make my way back to the site, where I spent a good half hour. Never had I seen such a display of Viguiera dentata, which I imagine now as a golden(eye) glacier wending its warm way down an Austin hillside. If you’d like a reminder of what individual flower heads of this species looks like, you can revisit a post from last fall or one from last month. The patches of light gray in the background and near the lower left are the fluffy stage of poverty weed, Baccharis neglecta.

© 2013 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

December 12, 2013 at 5:58 AM

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It strikes me as a Goldeneye waterfall but glacier is a nice concept too. Great find.

    Steve Gingold

    December 12, 2013 at 6:33 AM

    • My first thought was that you were influenced by all the waterfalls you’ve photographed, but I imagined the flowers as a glacier even though I’ve never photographed a glacier or seen one in person. In any case, it was a great find, and sitting right out there in the open on the side of the highway.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 12, 2013 at 7:57 AM

  2. I like that creative view of the glacier waterfall effect. I like this one very much.

    Elisa

    December 12, 2013 at 8:20 AM

    • The glacier/waterfall was bright and dense and above all different, so I just had to stop and play with it.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 12, 2013 at 8:29 AM

  3. “Golden(eye) glacier” – we think alike – with a wild imagination! I like the glacier! Back then (Nov. 11), we had a very, very few flowers blooming too, but nothing like this. Now, we are in winter landscape and I am thoroughly enjoying it!

    Brenda Jones

    December 12, 2013 at 10:47 AM

    • What’s an imagination for if not to be wild, right?

      After a month, and especially this last week of cold weather, our wildflowers are largely subdued now, too, but we still have a few hardy ones.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 12, 2013 at 8:53 PM

  4. Makes me think of the yellow brick road in the Wizard of Oz.

    Emily Heath

    December 12, 2013 at 3:52 PM

  5. What a beautiful sight!

    montucky

    December 12, 2013 at 7:57 PM

  6. It looks as though Mother Nature, painting en plein air, tipped over her paint pot!

    shoreacres

    December 12, 2013 at 10:13 PM

  7. Gorgeous cascade of goldeneye!

    Susan Scheid

    December 17, 2013 at 7:14 PM

  8. […] I stopped on November 11th to photograph the dense colony of goldeneye, Viguiera dentata, along S. Capital of Texas Highway, I also found a slender possumhaw, Ilex […]

  9. […] As we began our great Southwest trip on October 16th we noticed the many goldeneye bushes (Viguiera dentata) flowering along US 290 on the western side of Austin. No time to stop then, as we’d barely started on the 550 miles to El Paso, but nine days earlier I’d photographed some goldeneye flowers in my neighborhood. To get the picture shown here, I’d lain down and aimed up toward a flower head isolated against a patch of sky. There wasn’t a lot of light on the underside of the goldeneye bush so I added flash; the result was a bright flower head with a rich dark blue background around it. If you’d like a reminder of how yellowfully expansive a goldeneye colony can be, have a look back at a post from 2013. […]


Leave a Reply

