Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Antelope-horns milkweed buds

with 18 comments

Click for greater clarity.

Sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander, or so they say. And in the movie Sunset Blvd. the character of Norma Desmond says: “All right, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up.” So now the Mr. Schwartzman who readily brought you a close-up of a blackfoot daisy in the last post also brings you this close view of the buds of antelope-horns, Asclepias asperula, which appeared with some blackfoot daisies two posts ago. I’ll call your attention to the red star incised on each green and pudgy pentagonal bud; note also the long, stiff, folded leaves that characterize this species.

For those of you who are interested in photography as a craft, points 1 and 2 in About My Techniques are relevant to this photograph.

© 2012 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

May 20, 2012 at 5:22 AM

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Loved your shot, Well taken! =)

    ishooteditnblog

    May 20, 2012 at 5:59 AM

  2. This photo displays the shape of these buds in all their glory… I would probably not usually look at the buds, but I think I like them better than the actual flower! Thanks for another enlightenment Steve!

    Cathy

    May 20, 2012 at 6:58 AM

  3. I do love these series of yours where you start with a wider view of the flowers under inspection, then come in for these incredible close-ups. Fabulous!

    Susan Scheid

    May 20, 2012 at 8:15 AM

    • Thanks, Susan. To quote another classic movie: “Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy night!” Okay, the word night doesn’t quite fit, but you take my point: there’s more ahead in this series on antelope-horns milkweed.

      Steve Schwartzman

      May 20, 2012 at 10:33 AM

  4. How many times can I say I love your work oh this many !@!

    Bonnie Michelle

    May 20, 2012 at 6:20 PM

  5. Very interesting structure. Can’t wait to see those little balloons pop! ~ Lynda

    pixilated2

    May 20, 2012 at 10:58 PM

  6. Excellent shot Steve!

    dhphotosite

    May 21, 2012 at 2:51 PM

  7. I couldn’t quite identify what seemed so familiar about this photo – it’s the colors. They’re a subtler version of the chartreuse and maroon that were so favored in the 50s. As a matter of fact, I can see them even earlier, as part of a William Morris print. Just beautiful, and so unusual.

    shoreacres

    May 21, 2012 at 3:48 PM

    • I lived through the ’50s but I can’t say I remember chartreuse and maroon; I didn’t pay much attention to such things then (though I do remember the two-tone cars of that decade). William Morris: now there was a great artist.

      Steve Schwartzman

      May 21, 2012 at 5:44 PM

  8. Such potential in a bud isn’t there? What I enjoyed about this picture is not knowing what was held inside.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,615 other followers

