Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Ripples in Waller Creek

with 17 comments

August; Waller Creek at Elisabet Ney Museum in Austin

Today’s photograph is the last of the twelve that are currently on display at Austin’s Elisabet Ney Museum. When I went there on August 17 to see what things I might find in nature to take pictures of, I was surprised to discover some water flowing in Waller Creek, which runs within fifty feet of the museum that had been Ney’s studio. A member of the staff later said he believed the water that day had something to do with the emptying of a public swimming pool across the street. Thankful for any opportunity, even a chlorinated one, to photograph water flowing during our horrendous drought, I used a high shutter speed of 1/640 sec. to capture the action of the moving water. In so doing I recorded the patterns that the water created on the surface of the creek as well as the secondary patterns that they in turn created on the flat rocks making up the bed of the creek a few inches beneath the surface. And who would have thought that talk of making up a bed would enter into a blog devoted to outdoor photography?

© 2011 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

October 5, 2011 at 5:35 AM

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My first thought was, “Where did you find water?” Your next sentence answered my question. 😉 I find watching the patterns in water mesmerizing. Beautiful as always! ~ Lynda

    pixilated2

    October 5, 2011 at 6:57 AM

    • It’s nice that you let yourself be mesmerized. The water brought out the beautiful colors in the stone.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 5, 2011 at 7:46 AM

  2. I can see why you thought of this photo when you saw my post.
    Yours is quite lovely. Dancing light draws us to enjoy it.

    Tammie

    October 5, 2011 at 9:25 AM

  3. Steve, since I’m also a quilter – I want a fabric manufacturer to license that image and print quilting cotton for me to buy! Guess I’ll just have to send your blog link to some of them! LOVE IT!

    Texasjune

    October 5, 2011 at 11:05 AM

    • Hey, now there’s an idea. I wouldn’t have thought of a quilt, but now that you say it I can easily see this image that way. If you can interest a fabric manufacturer, that would be great. I’m happy that you love the picture.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 5, 2011 at 11:56 AM

  4. Beautiful effect 🙂

    Lu

    October 5, 2011 at 11:48 AM

  5. Hi Steve. I like this photo. Like a mosaic. The transparency creates two distinct layers in the photo. Jane

    jane tims

    October 10, 2011 at 5:21 AM

    • Yes, I was fascinated by the two layers and by the mosaic quality that the ripples created. I’m happy that you saw those aspects of the picture.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 10, 2011 at 7:58 AM

  6. I often comment on photos of water. They are always so patterned and interesting. Love the warmth and glow of this one!

    lesliepaints

    October 11, 2011 at 8:52 PM

  7. Love the play of light and water! Thank you for sharing with me!

    spottedfootprints

    November 24, 2011 at 12:41 PM

    • You’re welcome. The play of light and water fascinated me too, especially in the midst of our terrible drought.

      Steve Schwartzman

      November 24, 2011 at 12:58 PM

  8. I have enjoyed wandering through your posts. This caught my eye particularly. I am fascinated by the way patterns emerge from chaos in nature. Ripples and turbulence breaking a moving surface into cells has a hypnotic quality. You have captured this beautifully.

    kestrelart

    December 24, 2011 at 10:49 AM

    • So this morning you’ve made like Waller Creek and flowed through my posts. I was very happy when I looked through my camera’s viewfinder and saw these patterns, so I’m glad that they resonated with you as well. If found the colors unusually rich, too, more than what I’m used to seeing in creek beds here.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 24, 2011 at 11:12 AM

  9. […] find things to photograph on this parcel of prairie. Last year’s posts from September 25 to October 5 showed an assortment of those hardy native […]


Leave a Reply

