Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Red yucca

with 6 comments

Buds of red yuca, Hesperaloe parviflora; click to enlarge.

Fleecy clouds last week pulled me to Mount Bonnell, a high place above the Colorado River with a vista downward onto a swathe of west Austin and upward into the unobstructed sky. Along the path I found some budding red yucca, Hesperaloe parviflora, a species that is native farther west in Texas but that has been so widely planted as an ornamental that it now occasionally grows in Travis County on its own. As is my wont, I lay on the ground so I could look up at the red yucca (which isn’t a yucca, but a member of the century-plant family) and position it against the sympathetic sky: background, background, background.

© 2011 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

July 19, 2011 at 6:00 AM

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This brings back memories of lying on my back on the side of a trail to get a photo looking up at a nodding trillium back when I lived in Ohio. I was glad no one else happened along at that particular moment, because it must have appeared a bit odd. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Rebecca

    July 19, 2011 at 10:29 PM

    • I remember one time when I was lying down off to the side of a road in my neighborhood and a woman stopped her car to see if I needed help. The things we do to get photographs.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 20, 2011 at 4:51 AM

  2. My, is that ever pretty!

    Montucky

    July 20, 2011 at 11:14 PM

    • Thanks, Terry. I thought it was time for something more conventionally pretty than a camouflaged grasshopper and the shed exoskeleton of a cicada.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 21, 2011 at 5:21 AM

  3. For some reason, this feels like a looking-down-from-a-plane shot….perhaps someone clutching a bloom stalk as they plummet to their death.

    theosageplains

    July 25, 2011 at 9:26 PM

    • And I thought I have a vivid imagination. But now that you mention it I can see the downward “pull” of the curving, narrowing red.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 25, 2011 at 10:06 PM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,614 other followers

