Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

The lot along US 183: a second look back

with 10 comments

Goldenrod flowers; click for greater detail.

Click for greater detail and size.

Yesterday I mentioned the razing of a lot on the east side of US 183 adjacent to Wendy’s and Costco in my northwest Austin neighborhood. I can’t photograph on the property any more, but here’s a picture I took on October 17, 2011, that gives a close look at some goldenrod that had sprung up there that fall. I’m not sure what species it was, but the genus is Solidago. In light of the property’s razing, there’s an irony to that genus name, which combines two Latin words meaning “I make whole.”

© 2013 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

January 25, 2013 at 6:20 AM

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A beautiful photo, which helps to explain why goldenrod can make such a splash even from a distance. As for the irony – perhaps the heavy equipment operators heard the name and confused it for “I make hole”.

    shoreacres

    January 25, 2013 at 6:39 AM

    • Good wordplay! I wish instead they’d confused razing with raising, as in raising a crop, rather than tearing plants down, but I’m afraid the only thing that will be raised on the site is a building.

      But back to the goldenrod: I was taken with the way its color contrasted with that of the sky. As for the scientific name, it comes from the fact that people once thought goldenrod had medicinal qualities.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 25, 2013 at 8:05 AM

  2. Beautiful shot. I enjoy identifying the insects and wildflowers I photograph, but have pretty much given up on identifying goldenrod beyond genus.

    Marvin Smith

    January 25, 2013 at 12:11 PM

    • Thanks. As you point out, genera like Solidago can be difficult to sort into species. Asters are also hard for me, as are grasses and sedges. Sometimes I can tell, but other times I can’t. I’m a better photographer than a botanizer.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 25, 2013 at 1:38 PM

  3. I love Linda’s play on words. She is quite whippy. Do you know that expression? The photo is gorgeous. The yellow is so vibrant.

    petspeopleandlife

    January 25, 2013 at 10:51 PM

    • I know quippy but not whippy. Either way, I’ll agree that the colors were vibrant that day.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 26, 2013 at 12:06 AM

      • Whippy means quick thinking and very smart and good with words. You fit the bill as a whip also.

        petspeopleandlife

        January 26, 2013 at 1:44 PM

        • I imagine that usage comes from the expression “smart as a whip.” Thanks for whipping out an explanation.

          Steve Schwartzman

          January 26, 2013 at 2:07 PM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,006 other followers

