Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Rusty blackhaw at its rustiest

with 15 comments

Click for greater clarity.

Click for greater size and clarity.

In contrast to the last entry’s look at a single leaf, here’s a group picture showing rusty blackhaw, Viburnum rufidulum, at its rustiest. The Latin word rufidulum, by the way, means ‘reddish,’ but I’d say this photograph is evidence for dropping the -dish (and I hope it doesn’t break when it gets dropped).

As in the previous post, this view is from December 4th at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. To see various other places where this species grows, you can check out the state-clickable map at the USDA website.

© 2012 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

December 10, 2012 at 1:18 PM

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Viburnums are one of my favorite species. I have natives in my garden that are semi-evergreen offering winter color!

    Bonnie Michelle

    December 10, 2012 at 2:46 PM

    • Good for you to have winter color in a land where winter is for real. In Austin our native Viburnum species is a source of much-needed fall color, as you saw at the Wildflower Center (and again here).

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 10, 2012 at 2:57 PM

  2. Almost need sunglasses for that.

    naturesnippets

    December 10, 2012 at 4:51 PM

  3. Really pretty shot of ole rusty. I have several in my yard that I dug from my cousin’s property back in the 70’s. I am really fond of this native. The color this year was very slow to finally turn. The leaf color lasted until almost time before the leaves really began dropping from the largest shrub. It does ok in semi shade but blooms, I think better if it has lots of morning sun and then afternoon shade. I supplement the water about 3-4 times in a very dry summer.

    petspeopleandlife

    December 10, 2012 at 6:03 PM

    • You’re fortunate to have so many of our native plants on your property. In this case, you get an extra blast of fall color, something that we can always use more of in this part of the world. There’s some rusty blackhaw in Great Hills Park in my neighborhood, but its leaves fell before I had a chance to take any pictures. I’m fortunate that the trees at the Wildflower Center were still vibrant when I visited.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 10, 2012 at 6:59 PM

  4. Red! I too love viburnums and hadn’t ever seen one that turns this beautiful in fall! ~Lynda

    pixilated2

    December 10, 2012 at 7:59 PM

    • This is the only species I know, but from what you say I can understand why botanists named the species rufidulum, even if “reddish” is an understatement.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 10, 2012 at 10:41 PM

  5. Speaking of wordPress- some fo my comments that I made via my reader on other blogs and this one as well just disappeared. I don’t get noitificatios of everyoen either. I looked at my “anage” if those were all set to immediate delivery. I am getting just a tad aggravated. The instructions that are given are made for those peopel that ate totally computer literate. I am not.

    Anyhow- back to rusty. This shrub/small tree transplants very well if moved or planted very young and kept well watered 2,3,4 years according to drought conditions. Mine were about as pretty as Steve’s photo of all the leaves. It is truly a very pretty shrub. The leaves in the spring are a beautiful, glossy green. It also sends up new shoots from the roots and this is how I gained my transplants.

    One more item. Steve, does the strawberry bush grow in the Austin area. I also have this one in my yard. I don’t remember botanical name. I’ll need to look up the info.

    While I’m at it- have you done wafer ash? I don’t have this one and wish that I did.

    petspeopleandlife

    December 10, 2012 at 8:32 PM

    • I’m sorry you’re having problems with WordPress. All of us have computer problems at times, regardless of what software we’re using.

      As for the rusty blackhaw, I’ll have to look for the glossy green leaves in the spring. There’s a noticeable shine on these red leaves as well.

      Sorry, I don’t know any native plant in Austin called a strawberry bush. If you can track down the scientific name I can tell you if it grows here.

      Wafer ash is one of the many species I haven’t shown here yet, including some that are quite common. All in due time, I hope.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 10, 2012 at 10:46 PM

    • In a comment below, chatou11 identified the strawberry bush as Euonymus americanus. I looked up its range and found that the plant isn’t recorded in Travis County, where Austin is, but has been found one county to the east, in Bastrop County. I’ll be on the lookout for it next spring if I go there.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 11, 2012 at 7:26 AM

      • Wonderful. Hopefully you can find some. It is only pretty in the fall. I took lots of pics of it a week or so ago. However, my lens is not all that good. Your equipment is great but of course your expertise when photographing is over and beyond other pros.

        petspeopleandlife

        December 11, 2012 at 9:12 AM

  6. This viburnum has the best colour I ever seen.. It’s so beautiful. I saw your comment on the strawberry bush, I think it is Euonymus americanus.
    thanks for sharing

    chatou11

    December 11, 2012 at 3:49 AM

    • This had the best leaf color of anything I saw at the Wildflower center that day.

      Thanks for your identification of Euonymus americanus, which I wasn’t familiar with.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 11, 2012 at 7:23 AM

  7. [...] seems to have been doing a crossword puzzle. What the person got taken to is rusty blackhaw, which probably wasn’t right for the puzzle, given that the word rusty was already in the [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,873 other followers

