Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Mortgages, Investments, Business Services, Retirement, and …

with 21 comments

Click for greater size and clarity.

… birds. Yes, there I was on August 21 at the drive-up window of a bank in my neighborhood when I noticed a couple of birds on the hedges just ahead of me on my left, adjacent to the bank’s reflective windows. I pulled forward a little to be alongside the birds and I kept my car window up in hopes that its tinting would keep the birds from seeing me inside. Then I reached for my iPhone*, put it up against the car window, and took three pictures, of which this was the best. Whether anyone inside the bank was looking out and watching me do that, I don’t know; I couldn’t see inside the bank because its windows were too dark and reflective (and they also made my car, which is pure white, come out gray in this photograph). After this third picture I lowered the car window to see if I could get a clearer shot of the closer bird, but it got spooked and flew away, followed by the other bird. Their dark reflections went with them.

As I’ve said several times in this blog, I rarely include human elements in my nature pictures, but once in a while I find a reason to make an exception.

———

* I wonder if the white spot visible in my car’s window was the iPhone 4s’s puny attempt at a flash.

© 2012 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

September 2, 2012 at 6:16 AM

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great find, composition & all around a very interesting photo.

    lynnwiles

    September 2, 2012 at 6:45 AM

    • I’m glad you like this offbeat picture, Lynn. If life hands you birds, make bird soup, so to speak.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 2, 2012 at 7:35 AM

  2. I love anomalies like these! It came out well for an iPhone shot.

    animalartist

    September 2, 2012 at 8:06 AM

  3. I wish my car was as clean and shiny as yours.

    Cindy Hoyt

    September 2, 2012 at 10:10 AM

  4. Terrific shot. So urban and still it is lovely.

    myrahmcilvain

    September 2, 2012 at 10:10 AM

    • These birds seem to have had no trouble adapting to our urban world. I see so many in grocery store parking lots.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 2, 2012 at 10:42 AM

  5. Great change up today!! Yes.. I think it was your “flash”.. and these birds are so cute!!

  6. I need a real birder to confirm this, but I think these are juvenile mockingbirds. If not, they’re surely juvenile grackles, but the nascent white wingbars on the one at left make me think mockingbird. I’ve had some at my feeder this year, and they spend most of their time doing exactly what these birds are doing – scanning the sky for mom and dad, hoping they’re about to get fed!

    shoreacres

    September 2, 2012 at 11:07 AM

    • I know there are some birders among people who come here, so let’s hope one of them can tell us for sure. Notice how deftly I avoided saying anything about what kind of birds these might be. I need to get fed, too, but with knowledge.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 2, 2012 at 11:15 AM

  7. Super image Steve…timing and awareness was everything in this instance!

    dhphotosite

    September 2, 2012 at 11:38 AM

    • I’ve been at that drive-through many times, but I don’t recall ever seeing birds so close to the lane. It’s good that I had my phone handy, because I was running errands and my regular camera equipment was at home. It’s also good that I took some pictures before trying to put the car window down, which proved to be the end of that mini-session.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 2, 2012 at 11:42 AM

  8. Priceless!

    Susan Scheid

    September 2, 2012 at 8:11 PM

    • In the 15 months of this blog I don’t think anyone has ever used that word in a comment. Thanks.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 2, 2012 at 11:18 PM

  9. Very nice shot for an out the car window phone picture!

    Michael Glover

    September 8, 2012 at 7:53 PM

  10. Perhaps they were waiting for their parents to bring some scraps from Subway.

    Gallivanta

    October 14, 2014 at 7:57 AM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,078 other followers

