Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Guest post 9: splash splish

with 18 comments

Click for greater clarity.

The title of this post, backwards though the splattering words may be, is a reminder of a 1958 song by Bobby Darin and “Jean Murray” that a few of you may remember, and that began:

Splish splash, I was taking a bath
‘long about a Saturday night….

With that song still sounding in my mind, I’ll add that I took this picture not on a Saturday night but on a Friday morning, and not in Hollywood or New York City but in southwestern Massachusetts, where I visited the curiously named Bash Bish Falls. At around 60 ft., it’s reported to be the highest waterfall in the state, but Massachusetts can just barely claim that distinction: the falls are so far west that the main parking lot to walk to them is across the state line in New York. The unprepossessing flow of water I saw on June 29 makes me think there mustn’t have been much rain in the period leading up to my visit.

© 2012 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

July 20, 2012 at 6:15 AM

Posted in nature photography

Tagged with , , ,

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It looks serene and inviting. ~ Lynda

    pixilated2

    July 20, 2012 at 6:48 AM

    • It did invite me, but I can’t say it was serene. Several people were at the falls when I arrived, and more were on their way over from the parking lot, including college kids in bathing suits carrying coolers. So much for the No Swimming signs posted in various places along the river and at the falls.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 20, 2012 at 7:13 AM

      • I was afraid of that, but your photograph brilliantly captured what it should be. ;)
        ~ L

        pixilated2

        July 20, 2012 at 7:18 AM

      • Thanks, Lynda. Sometimes I have to get into uncomfortable positions to keep distracting human elements out of my pictures, but in this case it wasn’t too hard. Clambering over some boulders to get into position was the worst of it.

        Steve Schwartzman

        July 20, 2012 at 7:27 AM

  2. I like waterfalls like this. There are so many of them around here. It rains too much you know…

    bentehaarstad

    July 20, 2012 at 8:43 AM

    • The amount of rain is a relative thing. You may have too much of it, but many parts of the United States this summer would be happy to take your excess. Texas has recovered only partially from last year’s drought.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 20, 2012 at 12:58 PM

  3. Hermosísima, dan ganas de estar ahi ahora mismo.
    Que buena foto Steven!
    Un saludo!

    Pablo Buitrago

    July 20, 2012 at 10:11 AM

    • Pablo notes that the picture makes him wish he could be in that very pretty spot right now.

      Gracias, Pablo. La gente de Massachusetts te invita.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 20, 2012 at 1:00 PM

  4. What a refreshing sight, these hot dry days!

    melissabluefineart

    July 20, 2012 at 12:07 PM

    • From what I’ve heard, parts of the Midwest this year are like Texas in 2011. We’re better this year, but far from full recovery. Bash Bish Falls wasn’t at its best, either, but there’s no waterfall this high or with this much water in Austin—or near you, apparently. Too bad for us both.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 20, 2012 at 1:08 PM

  5. Well, as the song also says, “How was I to know there was a party going on?” Apparently the splashing at Bash Bish Falls was all in the spirit of the song – and yes, I remember it, both tune and lyrics.

    It’s a pretty falls. It doesn’t surprise me that people make use of it for recreation. Having spent a few afternoons at low-water crossings in the hill country, I understand the temptation perfectly – although the crossings aren’t posted as the falls is. In fact, a couple of the creeks I’ve enjoyed are stocked with trout for the fly fishermen!

    shoreacres

    July 21, 2012 at 9:54 AM

    • An apt line, that, about a party going on, or about to go on, as more and more people were arriving by the time we left. I heard people saying that the police don’t enforce the No Swimming signs there.

      Here in Texas, as you pointed out, a hot climate has led people to cherish whatever swimming holes they can find, usually in creeks. I know of some in Austin, including a few in an unfrequented part of Great Hills Park in my neighborhood.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 21, 2012 at 10:21 AM

  6. Love Waterfalls and this one is BEAUTIFUL:)

    cravesadventure

    July 21, 2012 at 6:39 PM

    • Then this is one destination you can add to your list of Eastern adventures. I’d never heard of it till I was in the vicinity.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 21, 2012 at 6:43 PM

  7. This is cool and refreshing…nice to look at, especially since we have a lack of rainfall here!

    dhphotosite

    July 22, 2012 at 1:06 PM

  8. Massachusetts has some beautiful road-side rivers and falls. I remember once taking a 2-hr drive that wound up being 5-hrs due to my frequent stops for gazing and photo-snapping. I don’t believe I’ve ever visited Bash Bish.

    Shannon

    July 25, 2012 at 8:22 AM

    • The Northeast in general has lots of pretty waterfalls, especially compared to Texas, so it isn’t surprising that there are so many we haven’t heard of, much less visited.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 25, 2012 at 10:42 AM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,070 other followers

