Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Gaura-goers

with 12 comments

Stilt bugs; click for more detail.

Following yesterday’s post about downy gaura, Gaura mollis, Pixilated2 commented that she uses a cultivar of Gaura lindheimeri as a “trap” to entice aphids away from her garden plants. She asked whether I’ve seen aphids on downy gaura in the wild, and I replied that I don’t believe I have. The insects that I’ve most often found on downy gaura are stilt bugs, so called for their long legs. Valerie Bugh was good enough to identify this mating pair as probably belonging to the genus Jalysus.

During a slide show that I gave to the Highland Lakes chapter of the Native Plant Society of Texas in Marble Falls two days ago, a man asked whether I ever put an artificial background behind a subject to make it stand out; I answered that I never do. If you’re interested in learning how I obtained the natural but almost completely neutral background you see in today’s photograph, you can read points 1 and especially 2 in About My Techniques.

© 2011 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

September 19, 2011 at 6:00 AM

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have seen a lot of insects in my time, they are my second love after flora, and I have to say that you have surprised me with these specimens! I never knew that there were insects with articulated antennae! Great capture! ~ Lynda

    pixilated2

    September 19, 2011 at 6:49 AM

    • Thanks, Lynda. I’m always happy to show people something new. I’d seen these bugs for years but only recently found out what they are, thanks to a couple of local experts.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 19, 2011 at 7:26 AM

  2. Great close up. I love the detail.

    Tammy

    September 19, 2011 at 10:07 PM

  3. This is the reason why I love Macro Photography, you can clearly see every detail of miniature life through the power of our camera :)

    Thank you for visiting my site :D

    Biboy Fotograpiya
    Visit the Philippines. Filipino Photo Hobbyist.

    Blaine

    September 20, 2011 at 3:38 AM

  4. These insects look amazing, so fragile.

    sanetes

    September 21, 2011 at 11:21 AM

    • Their long legs do give them a fragile appearance, yet these stilt bugs are apparently quite hardy; they manage to thrive in central Texas and I often find them on downy gaura.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 21, 2011 at 12:43 PM

  5. Fantastic shot! I really like the details.

    Fergiemoto

    September 24, 2011 at 11:40 AM

  6. All your shots are gorgeous, but this one is particularly beautiful! I appreciate your including your techniques as well…just need that macro lens now. :)

    missusk76

    September 26, 2011 at 4:33 PM

    • I’m glad you especially like this one. I couldn’t do much of what I do without a macro lens. Here’s to yours in the near future.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 26, 2011 at 5:05 PM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,910 other followers

